Three new free background music tracks

Three new free background music tracks have been added to the collection. You can access the whole collection here:

You can use these music compositions for any non-commercial projects that you are working on (e.g., video, animation, presentations, etc.). Just provide a credit to: stephen richards ( To download an mp3 version, Just click on the appropriate link in the orange Compositions toolbar on the right. I’d appreciate if you could send me an e-mail ( letting me know how the music is used (I’m just curious).

Background Music 12 – 10:40. 120 bpm, minimalist (piano, syntheszier, drums)


Background Music 11 – 3:00. 80/160 bpm, minimalist (piano, cello, acoustic bass, harp, flute, French horn. clarinet, drums)


Background Music 10 – 3:00. 135 bpm, electronica/pop (synthesizer)

2 thoughts on “Three new free background music tracks

  1. Stephen,

    I like your background music very much. It’s the best I’ve found and suits my purposes extremely well. I produce videos for associates with small businesses, community events, charity functions etc. who do not have funds for big budget productions, but still require local promotion. I do charge for this service, but only enough to cover my costs as this is a retirement project, rather than a commercial endeavour. I’m 65 years of age.

    I would consider it a privilege to use some of your music as background? I would naturally give you credit for the composition. Please let me know if this is possible.

    Also, please advise me as new music is created.


  2. Hi David

    That is possible for your work for charities and other non-profit organisations or private individuals (and you would have to inform the client that the music is not included in the production charge). The problem is that almost all the songs (except #10) make use of pre-recorded loops which come with their own licensing restrictions that preclude commercial use, so the songs could not be used by profit-making companies.

Leave a Reply

